bandeau maataours
  • About Tanzania



    map tanzania


    Glance through the map for more details ...


    Tanzania officially the United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa. bordered by Indian Ocean.

    The country's name is a portmaneau of Tanganyika, its mainland part, and the Zanzibar islands off its east coast.

    Tanganyika united with Zanzibar in 1964 (shortly after independence), forming the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, which later the same year was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.


    Capital: Dodoma (administrative), Dar-es-Salaam (économic)

    Area: 945.090 sq km of which game reserves and national parks take 250.000 sq km

    Population : 35.000.000 inhabitants (the African population consists of more than 120 ethnic groups)

    National Language : Swahili, English (administration, business) and over 100 dialects.

    Climate: Varies from tropical along coast to temperate in highlands

    Currency: Tanzanian Shilling



    - valid passport for at least 6 months
    - visa obtainable at the Tanzanian Embassy.
    - Vaccination against yellow fever is reccomanded

    Copyright Matata Tours - Webdesigner Vonne Blanchet - Photos Delphine Maratier, Georges Léculée - Site map.